Operating a supersized motor vehicle for long, continuous periods of time takes heavy amounts of skill and concentration. Even the most talented and focused drivers can become fatigued or distracted on the long and winding Utah roads, which is why regulations on the amount of time you can be behind the wheel have been put into place. These service limitations protect not only the truck driver and their cargo but the people around them as well.
Failure to adhere to these legal regulations can result in reckless driving and dangerous road conditions for the surrounding community. If you have been injured in a truck accident resulting from another’s recklessness or negligence, you are owed damages for your suffering. A knowledgeable personal injury lawyer can help you obtain that compensation by filing a claim.
Legal Service Limitations for Utah Truck Drivers
Utah currently adheres to federally imposed driving regulations. These set standards for truck drivers were implemented to limit their time spent actively behind the wheel. Legally, a truck driver must stay within the following limits:
- You may not drive for more than 11 hours after coming on duty without a free period of at least 10 consecutive hours.
- You may not drive past the 14th hour after coming on duty without a free period of at least 10 consecutive hours.
- You have to take a 30-minute break or more after driving for eight consecutive hours.
- You may not drive more than 60 hours in any seven-day period or more than 70 hours in any eight-day period. This regulation will reset after a free period of at least 34 consecutive hours.
These numbers are subject to change for unavoidable circumstances, such as inclement weather conditions. Failure to adhere to the set standards is not only a legal breach but has also been proven to result in fatigue, impairment in vision, and impairment in overall driving.
What Happens When a Truck Driver Violates the Driving Limitation?
When a trucker or trucking company violates federal laws and regulations and causes an accident, they can be found liable for the affected party’s injuries. By actively breaching their standard of care and putting their fellow drivers at risk of an accident, their behavior is considered negligent by Utah state law.
Trucks are large motor vehicles and can result in extreme damage to cars and pedestrians. When fully loaded with cargo, they can weigh over 70,000 pounds and result in mass accidents. This risk is why the limitations were put in place and why they should be followed closely.
Injured in a Truck Accident Due to Somebody Else’s Recklessness? Feller & Wendt Can Help
Finding yourself at the receiving end of a truck driver that has not followed the legal driving regulations can leave you stuck in a pile of hospital bills, missed wages, and more. This sudden change can feel overwhelming. You may not know where to begin, which is where Feller & Wendt come in. We have serviced those in need of a personal injury lawyer in Utah for many years now and have helped recover hundreds of thousands in damages.
We will be there with you every step of the way, from filing your claim to gathering evidence and obtaining a worthy settlement. Start the process today with a free consultation by filling out our contact form or calling (801) 499-5060.